Irish Soda Bread

irish-soda-breadIt’s raining today.  A lot.  And it brings back memories of a wonderful, but rainy, week spent in Ireland.  During this trip, I learned how important a fulfilling breakfast is to combating cold and damp.  Since I was planning on an afternoon of digging and planting in between the showers, I decided to bake one of my favorite discoveries from that trip in Ireland.

Irish soda bread is one of those earthy, dense breads with a crunchy crust that I enjoy with butter and jam.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a big white bread fan (sourdough being the exception).  Just one slice will get you through your work and it goes great with a hot drink to relax with when you’re done.  This is a low fat version I tried this morning.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix together:
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1 t. salt
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t baking powder
2 2/12 T brown sugar

Cut into the dry mixture:
2 T. butter

In a separate bowl, combine:
1 egg white, beaten until frothy
1 c. buttermilk
1 c. raisins or currants

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix.  Turn onto a floured board and knead about 10 times.  Shape into a 9″ round and place on a greased baking.  Make a cross in the top of the dough with a sharp knife.

Bake 45 minutes.

2 Responses to Irish Soda Bread

  1. Adam says:

    Hi, This is Adam one of the owners of Blue Planet Natural Grill. I like to check out what is being posted on the internet about us from time to time. It is a perfect way to find out what people really think and take action on those comments to improve our menu. I noticed that you commented on the beef burger as a comment on another blog site “geeks”. The beef burger has been a long time heartache of mine. After months of working with the new hi tech ovens we believe we have finally figured out how to better maintain the texture and juiciness of the burger. We started this new method after your post. If you do not mind, I would like to ask your opinion of it now as opposed before. If you happen to be in and try it again please feel free to give me a shout out and let what you think. Also any other suggestions you might have. Feedback from truly reasonable and honest guests is the best way for us to improve and that is exactly what we intend to do. Thank you for your time.

    Adam

    • Kenton says:

      I have a lunch group at work that goes out each Friday. I’ll push for going to Blue Planet Natural Grill this week. I’d be glad to try your burger again. I’ll let you know what I think.

Leave a comment