Sloppy Dudes

Sloppy Dudes
Rachel Ray to the rescue!  A year ago we started changing our diet to deal with cholesterol and high blood pressure and I started looking for a tasty recipe for ground turkey breast.  I found it in her Just in Time cookbook.  I had to make my own variation on it of course.  Rachel’s recipe calls for tomatillos but since I live in the Midwest, good tomatillos can be hard to find in the winter.  So last fall I froze up a bunch of green tomatoes.  I know it’s a very different flavor but the tartness seems to work.

Here’s my version.  It’s a little shorter in time.

1 lb. ground turkey breast
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 green pepper, diced
1 jalapeno, diced
1 c. green tomatoes
1 avocado, peeled and sliced

Saute onions in olive oil.  Brown ground turkey.  Add green pepper, jalapenos and green tomatoes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Cook through.  Serve on hamburger buns with slices of avocado.

3 Responses to Sloppy Dudes

  1. The Hy-Vee at 33rd & L St. usually has tomatillos. My students and I were there in Dec. for a performance and they had some right in the front of the produce dept. Just thought you’d like to know.

    • Melissa says:

      Our Hy-Vee has them often but sometimes they’re not in the greatest shape. So I was looking for alternatives. I’ve been wondering about growing them myself because Kent made a killer tomatillo salsa last summer.

    • Melissa says:

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

