Farmer’s Market Produce

2nd_farmers_market

Items in the picture.  Clockwise starting with the flowers: edible chive flowers, radishes, young dill, chives, swiss chard.  In the bowl, asparagus.

Today the weather was colder than last week at the Village Point Market, due to the wind.  But the sun was shining and more farmers and more customers were out.  The cool weather keeps the produce fresh I guess.  Soon we’ll be complaining about the heat.

Well I did it again, I failed to get the name of one of the farmers I purchased from.  Last week I saw some nice looking chard just as we started making the rounds.  By the time we came back I heard, “That’s the last of the chard.”  So this week I started with his stand and bought two nice bunches of swiss chard.  Next up I stopped by Wolff Farms.  I talked to Duane Wolff for a bit about his farm.  He’s from Norfolk and has been farming since 1979.  He grows produce and grass fed beef.  I bought some nice radishes from him.  Xiong’s Gardens had the first dill of the year.  I got a couple of their young bunches.  They grow their produce in North Omaha and Missouri Valley.  The asparagus I got from Grandview Farms of Fremont.  Asparagus was all he was selling, so I asked him, “You must grow a lot of asparagus.”  He replied, “Four acres.”  That’s a lot of asparagus!  The chives I bought from Black Sheep Farms.   They had a terrible tragedy last week.  They lost several chickens to a varmint of some kind .  You can read about it on their blog.  The chive flowers I got from Bryan Family Farm.  I also picked up another 1/2 pound of moral mushrooms from him.

Last week I forgot to mention meeting Christy from Real Foods.    She’s put together a nice group.  We joined after we got back from the market last week.  Also my apologies to Brian Davies from Harvest Nursery for not stopping by to say hello.  I just totally spaced.

By Kenton

Leave a Reply

