Disaster Averted

Cherry Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Cherry Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Cherry Banana Oatmeal Cookies

Baking is chemistry.  You read that again and again.  You need certain ratios and must measuring accurately or things fall apart.  My failed rhubarb bread with the missing from a few posts ago is proof of this.  But sometimes you get to baking you don’t have what you thought you had in the cupboard.  Or frig.  I know, I know.  A person should set everything out before beginning to bake so you know you have all the ingredients.  To be honest, I rarely do that.  And I realize that the rhubarb mess wouldn’t have happened if I had done that.  But still, I never learn.

Yesterday I decided to try this recipe I found in Midwest Living.  From the beginning, it seemed doomed.  First, I substituted oil for butter.  The recipe called for 1 c. butter, but I had recently read that you can substitute oil for butter but that you need to watch the moisture level.  So I reduced it to 3/4 c. canola oil.  Next I discovered I didn’t have any eggs.  But a month or so ago, Kent had emailed me a site that gave a list of substitutes for eggs.  One of them was banana.  So in went a banana.  Then I remembered that I had three egg yolks in the refrigerator so they were thrown in.  This should have been a disaster.  But lo and behold, it worked!  These are actually pretty good cookies.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix together:
1 c. brown sugar
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon

With a hand mixer, mix the dry ingredients with

3/4 c. canola

Then continue mixing and add

1 ripe banana
3 egg yolks

If you can, continue to blend with the hand mixer and add

2 c. flour

Then stir in

2 c. oatmeal
1 c. dried cherries

Drop tablespoon-sized rounds onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 18-20 minutes

2 Responses to Disaster Averted

  1. lailablogs says:

    thats very funny … if it was me i would have stoped making it all together .. but its interesting how the subsitute worked … but i wonder .. how did it end but tasting .. was the banana flavor overtaking ?? … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

    • Melissa says:

      Thanks for your comments. I’m too frugal (or maybe too stubborn) to ever just stop a recipe. Once I really messed up a german chocolate cake recipe. To save the batter I searched until I found a cake with similar base ingredients to use it all up and then added whatever additional ingredients were needed to finish it all out. As I recall, I ended up with three pound cakes and one german chocolate cake. It’s a good thing pound cake freezes well.

      The flavor of the cookie actually turned out well. The banana flavor is present but more in the background. I actually notice the cinnamon more. And it is a chewy cookie.

Leave a Reply

