Homemade Spice Rack

spice_rack

Our spice storage had been a problem for some time.  We’d made incremental improvements over the years.  Moving from spices dumped in a drawer, to stacked in a cupboard, to alphabetized baskets.  But about a month ago, I finally became fed up with our situation and decided to so something about it.  I of course turned to the great sage, the web, for advice.  I ran across an article in The Washington Post describing a magnetic spice rack.  I dumped the 22 gauge steel plating they suggested, using the refrigerator instead.  I also used our handy labeler to mark the front of each box.  So far it’s worked very well, not only are the spices easily accessible, but we’ve regained some valuable cupboard space.  The spices that won’t fit in the cases remain in the alphabetized baskets, but downstairs on a shelf out of the way.  One thing I might do is purchase the largest size case, 70mm (2-3/4″) for some of the frequently used spices, saving a few trips down stairs.

spice_rack_material

I got the boxes at Lee Valley Tools.  Each 53mm (2-1/8″) box holds 2 tablespoons of spice.  I picked up 3/4″ round magnets at Lowe’s and used some 527 Multipurpose Cement we had laying around.  It’s a pretty simple project.  Just glue the magnets on the back of the cases, once the glue is dry, fill with spices, label and attach to the refrigerator.

8 Responses to Homemade Spice Rack

  1. Mags says:

    Oh for pete’s sake… how could this not have been thought of sooner?!? What a great idea! I’m such a complainer about how to get at my spices in a quicker manner… and this solves that problem completely.

  2. justine says:

    That’s quite clever. I don’t have a place of my own yet, but I’m bookmarking it for when I do!

  3. Lainey says:

    awesome idea!!!!! so easy. hmm. sounds like a fun weekend project.

  4. Jill says:

    It is nice to see the finished project!! The next time you come up, bring your stuff up and organize my cupboard please???

  5. christy says:

    This is a fabulous idea!!!! I’ve never seen anything like it :)

  6. lisa says:

    How tall are each of these containers? Are the 70mm taller than the 53mm?

Leave a Reply

