Corn Spoon Pudding

corn-spoon-puddingI love corn bread.  The corn meal has such a great texture and a light sweetness that it really seems like more of a snack.  So it wasn’t hard for me to become a big fan of corn spoon pudding.  An aunt gave me the recipe years ago and I’d been searching for it recently with no luck.  When I found a recipe in the American Cancer Society’s Healthy Eating Cookbook (PDF), I had to make it again with a little tweaking.

1/2 c. egg substitutes
1 can corn, drained
1 can creamed corn
1 6 oz. corn bread mix
1 c. low fat sour cream
1/4 c. melted butter
1/2 c. low fat Swiss cheese

My tweaking consists of:

1 small can of diced green chilies
1/2 c. diced sweet red pepper
1/2 c. diced tomatoes
1/4 c. cornmeal

Blend egg and corn bread mix together.  Add the corn, creamed corn, sour cream and melted butter. (This is where I added my additional ingredients.  Pour into baking dish and bake for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.

American Cancer Society’s healthy eating cookbook. (2005). Atlanta, GA:  American Cancer Society.

Leave a Reply

