Sweet Sunday Smoothies

smoothy

One of my favorite Sunday morning treats is a smoothie. It doesn’t take long to whip to them up and you can use a variety of fruits so it’s likely that you always have the ingredients on hand.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I usually keep a few bananas frozen in the freezer for baking purposes. But they’re also handy to keep around for smoothies. I think of the banana as the foundation of my smoothies. The basic recipe is

  • 1 banana (fresh or frozen)
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice concentrate (you can use a fresh orange but it doesn’t come with as much flavor)
  • 1 cup fat free milk or vanilla soy milk (we often use half a cup milk and half a cup soy)
  • 1 cup other fruit (raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cherries, etc.)

Put them in the blender and let ‘er rip.

Most fruits will work although I don’t recommend kiwi. I had high hopes for kiwis since their flavor often reminds me of strawberries. But the banana-kiwi-orange results were very disappointing.

Kent likes to add honey to the mixture, but I think Mother Nature loaded the fruit with enough sugar that we don’t need to contribute more. Although, I have to admit that Kent makes a mighty fine smoothie.

Leave a Reply

